This is the "Home" page of the "ESU Special Collections and Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESU Special Collections and Archives   Tags: archives, primary sources, research, special collections  

This guide will introduce you to the ESU Special Collections and Archives, and serves as a starting point to help you begin your original research.
Last Updated: Aug 17, 2012 URL: http://libguides.emporia.edu/Archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Special Collections and Archives

Fall Hours:

Reception Desk: Monday - Friday 8 - 5pm

Reading Room: Monday - Friday 11 - 3pm

Location: White Library, 119

(620) 341-6431

archives@emporia.edu

Helpful Links

 

Welcome!

The Emporia State University (ESU) Special Collections and Archives collects, preserves and provides access to materials that document the history of the University, as well as materials that support scholarship in any discipline. Our strongest collecting areas relate to the history of ESU (formerly known as the Kansas State Normal School, the Kansas State Teachers College, and Emporia Kansas State College); the history of Kansas (often represented in the greater context of US and World history) and children’s book publishing. 

We house the institutional records of Emporia State University from its founding in 1863 to the present and collections from many diverse sources that reflect the university’s place in the community and in the lives of the students, alumni, faculty and staff.

Additionally, the ESU Special Collections and Archives administers the personal papers of two-time-Pulitzer prize winning journalist William Allen White and houses the May Massee Memorial Collection, which pays tribute to the woman who created two of the first three childrens book divisions in American publishing houses. This collection reveals the book-making process, from a core idea to dummy draft, through the editing and layout process, on to illustration, and then to final print, distribution, and translations into many foreign languages. Original works of art by 57 artists, correspondence with hundreds of authors and artists from the 1920s-1960s, books, scrapbooks, and even a wood paneled office built for May Massee by renowned architect Eric Gugler (best known for designing the Oval Office in the White House) are included in the collection.

Other collections include an interesting set of documents and photographs showcasing the development of the Christian-Socialist movement in 19th century England, a scrapbook that offers an insiders view of Woodrow Wilsons career prior to his becoming US President, Rare Books dating back to 1493, and rare Children's Books. 

We serve approximately 600 researchers each year. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ashley Todd-Diaz
Contact Info
Curator of Special Collections and Archives
Assistant Professor
(620) 341-5034
White Library, 119
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip